Mon. Aug 2nd, 2021

Five communities will soon get 20,000 free prepaid meters, says the Lagos State Government.

The government on Tuesday named the five low-income communities as Isale Eko, Mushin, Surulere, Alimosho and Agege.

It added that it was coming with an electricity policy that would serve as a blueprint for the attainment of a universal access to electricity in the state.

The Commissioner for Energy and Mineral Resources, Mr Olalere Odusote, said these at the annual ministerial press briefing in commemoration of the second year anniversary of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s administration in Alausa, Ikeja.

According to him, the electricity policy will also accelerate the ‘Light-up Lagos’ power programme which the state government had already embarked on.

The commissioner said, “Lagos Electricity Policy is vital in achieving the T.H.E.M.E.S. agenda of this administration and will serve as a key driver for the social and economic development aspirations of the State in consonance with the government’s 30-year development plan (2021 – 2051), currently being developed.”

Odusote added that the governor approved the procurement and installation of 20,000 units of prepaid meters as a way of improving electricity supply in the affected communities.

The Commissioner further stated that the Sanwo-Olu-led administration had concluded arrangements with a leading smart metering solution company on meter supply for low income communities and also identified transmission infrastructure challenges in the state.

Odusote said, “Recall that a programme ‘Smart Hackathon 2020,’ was inaugurated last year July by Governor Sanwo-Olu where herevealed that the idea is to design, produce and mass-distribute affordable and reliable smart meters in Nigeria.”


Click Here to Read More News on Lagos

Click Here to Join Our WhatsApp Group

Leave a Reply