16 political parties register for Osun LG polls

Ahead of the Local Government election scheduled for later this year, 16 political parties have registered with the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSSIEC) to participate in the poll.

The parties, according to the commission’s Spokesperson, Tunde Fanawopo, include Action Alliance, African Democratic Congress, Accord Party, Social Democratic Party, African Action Congress, New Nigeria Peoples Party, Allied Peoples Party and the Peoples Redemption Party.

Others are, All Progressives Congress, All Progressives Grand Alliance, Peoples Democratic Party, Zenith Labour Party, Action Democratic Party, Action Peoples Party, Labour Party, and Young Peoples Party.

He said party’s registration had commenced since June 16-23 but was extended to June 30, 2020 to avail other parties the opportunity to register too.

He added that having completed parties registration, the commission would embark on consultation with political parties for a successful poll.

Meanwhile, OSSIEC’s Chairman, Mr Olusegun Oladiran had promised the Commission’s commitment to conducting a free, fair, credible, and acceptable Local Government election in the State.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

2020 Top Twenty Most Corrupt Countries in the world, Nigeria not listed

Sun Jun 28 , 2020
In stark contrast to the world’s least corrupt countries, the nations with the highest levels of dishonest dealings appear to be doing very little to tackle the problems, and some are actually perceived to be getting worse. 1. SomaliaCorruption score: 9For the seventh year in a row Somalia is the […]
%d bloggers like this: