Just In: Oyetola swears in Osun Electoral Commission Board Members

Governor of Osun State, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola

The Governor of Osun State, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola has sworn in members of the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) at the State Secretariat in Osogbo on Wednesday.

The committee is expected to oversee the conduct of the local government elections that is to hold in Osun later this year as well as manage the affairs of the commission for the next four years.

The Governor noted that the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has empowered each State Governor to appoint a state electoral board to conduct local government elections.

He therefore urged all members of the committee to always remember the oath of allegiance they have taken while carrying out there duties to the state, noting that there is so much to do within a very short period of time.

He added that his administration will give the board adequate support needed but the board should ensure they organize a credible, free and fair election.

Full List of members

Barrister Segun Oladitan, Chairman
Mrs Abosede Omibekun (East),
Mr. Rufus Oyeniran (West),
Alhaja Babalola Adubi (Central)
Mr Oladosu Gidigbi (East),
Mr. Yinka Ajiboye (West)
Alhaji Wahaab Adewoyin (Central)


Leave a Reply

Next Post

Tribunal affirms Smart Adeyemi as Kogi west senator

Wed Jun 10 , 2020
The national assembly election petition tribunal sitting in Abuja has affirmed Smart Adeyemi as the senator representing Kogi west district. Adeyemi defeated Dino Melaye, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in the rerun poll of November 16. He polled 88,373 votes to defeat Melaye who secured 62,133 votes. However, […]
%d bloggers like this: