Lyon women awarded French title for 14th consecutive season

French women’s football giants Lyon will be declared league champions for the 2019-20 campaign, collecting the title for the 14th consecutive year after the season was ended by the coronavirus pandemic.

The decision was confirmed to AFP by a source close to talks held Monday by the French football federation as well as a source at Lyon, backing up an earlier report from RMC Sport.

Lyon, winners of the past four Women’s Champions League finals, have claimed the French title every year since 2007.

The women’s top flight in France was halted in mid-March when Lyon held a three-point lead over Paris Saint-Germain.

Last month, French Prime Minister Edouard Philippe announced that professional sport could not return until September.

The men’s Ligue 1 and Ligue 2 divisions were ended, with PSG named the top-flight champions.

Lyon and PSG will likely represent France next season in the Women’s Champions League.

Both clubs made it through to the quarter-finals of this season’s competition. Lyon are due to play Bayern Munich while PSG will face Arsenal if UEFA is able to reschedule the latter stages of the knockout rounds.


Kindly click here to donate to support Affairs TV


Leave a Reply

Next Post

Just In: President Buhari makes new appointment

Mon May 11 , 2020
President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Mohammed Shehu as the new Secretary of the Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC). Also, the President approved the appointment of Bitrus Chinoko as the Director-General of the Centre for Management Development (CMD) Lagos. The President’s approvals for both appointments were […]
%d bloggers like this: