Cross River Acting Chief Judge constitutes LG Election Tribunals in three Senatorial zones, Appeal Tribunal

Cross River State Local Government Election Tribunal to sit in the three Senatorial Zones of the state have been appointed and constituted by the Acting Chief Judge of Cross River, Hon. Justice Maurice Odey Eneji to hear Petitions arising after the March 28, 2020 Local Government Election in the state.

Appointing and constitutimg the Local Government Election Tribunal for the three Senatorial Zones to in line with the exercise of powers conferred on him by section 99 of the Cross River State Local Government Law, 2007 and all other powers enabling him, Hon. Justice Eneji, said that the tribunals will commence sitting in the Southern, Central and Northern Senatorial Zones of Calabar, Ikom and Ogoja to hear petitions presented after 2020 Lical Government Election.

The The Central Senatorial Zone Local Government Election Tribunal has Hon.. Justice Emmanuel Ubua as.chairman, Chief Magistrate Rita Marshall as.member and Chief Magistrate Eunice Dada as member.

Northern Senatorial Zone has Hon. Justice Imelda Etape as Chairman, Chief Magistrate V. Ebaye, member and Chief Magistrate I. I Abam as member.

In the Southern Senatorial Zone, Hon. justice Ashu Ewa, Chairman, Chief Magistrate Rajuno Bassey, member and Chief Magistrate Usang Omini, member.

The Tribunals are “To hear and determine any question as to whether any person has been validly elected under this law, or the term of office of any person has ceased, or the seat of a person in the Local Government Council has become vacant.”

In the same vein, the Acting Chief Judge of Cross River State, Hon.. Justice Maurice Odey Eneji has also appointed and constituted the Local Government Election Appeal Tribunal, 2020, in line with Section 104 of the Cross River State Local Government Law, 2007.

Similarly,”The Tribunal shall commence it’s sitting in Calabar after the 2020 Local Government Election as Soon as appeals against any decision of the Election Tribunal are presented before it.”

The Appeal Tribunal is headed by Hon. Justice M. Anjor as Chairman, Hon. Justice Bassey Ikpeme, as member and Barrister P. I Obiem to also serve member.


Leave a Reply

Next Post

NNPC Posts 34% Increase in Trading Surplus in December 2019

Sun Mar 22 , 2020
• As Corporation’s Downstream Subsidiary, PPMC, Records ₦337.63billion Petroleum Products Sales The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) has announced an increased trading surplus of ₦5.28billion in its December 2019 operations compared to the ₦3.95billion surplus posted in November last year. A release today in Abuja by the corporation’s Group General […]
%d bloggers like this: