Sun. Oct 25th, 2020

Former Nigerian vice president Atiku Abubakar has blamed President Muhammadu Buhari’s government for the travel ban on the country by the United States.

The US placed immigration restrictions on Nigeria, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan and Tanzania on Friday. The restriction will come into effect on February 22 and are less sweeping, unlike the travel ban Trump unveiled in January 2017, which targeted Muslim countries.

An American official told AFP that the restrictions came into effect as a “result of these countries’ unwillingness or inability to adhere to certain baseline identity management, information sharing and national security and public safety assessment criteria that were established by the department in 2017.”

Leave a Reply