Fri. Oct 23rd, 2020

The minority leader of the house is one of the lawmakers who defected to the new ruling party in the state – The deputy speaker of the house, Hon. Okey Onyekanma, has also resigned his position News coming out from Imo indicates that nine lawmakers in the state House of Assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

While four of the lawmakers are defecting from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), another four are from the Action Alliance (AA), while the remaining lawmaker is defecting from the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA). The minority leader of the house, Ekene Nnodimele, is one of those who defected to the new ruling party in the state.

New Imo governor, Hope Uzodinma has gotten more party members in the Imo state House of Assembly.

The lawmakers who defected are;

1. Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe) – PDP to APC

2. Johnson Duru (Ideato South) – AA to APC 3. Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) – PDP to APC

4. Authur Egwim (Ideato North) – AA to APC 5. Heclus Okorocha (Ohaji/Egbema) – PDP to APC

6. Ngozi Obiefule (Isu) – AA to APC

7. Ekene Nnodimele (Orsu) – APGA to APC

8. Chyna Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele) – PDP to APC

9. Obinna Okwara(Nkwerre) – AA to APC In a related development, the deputy speaker of the Imo House of Assembly.

Okey Onyekanma, has resigned. Onyekanma also resigned as the chairman, house committee on rules and business in a letter read by the speaker during plenary on Tuesday, January 21.

Leave a Reply