Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has sacked eight commissioners from his cabinet.

Consequently, the governor has nominated their replacements and appointed five Special Advisers.

A statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Osarodion Ogie Esq. and made available to newsmen read, “The Edo State Government has approved the reshuffle of the State Executive Council (EXCO), with the Commissioners named below relieved of their appointments with effect from the date of this notice.

“The commissioners are: Joseph Ugheoke, Commissioner for Minerals, Oil and Gas; Magdalene Ohenhen, Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development and Engr. Osahon Amiolemen, Commissioner for Infrastructure.”

Others are “Dr. David Osifo, Commissioner for Health; Mika Amanokha, Commissioner for Youths and Special Duties; Mariam Abubakar, Commissioner for Budget; Barr. Emmanuel Usoh, Commissioner for Wealth Creation, Cooperatives and Employment; Dr. Christopher Adesotu, Commissioner for Science and Technology.”

The statement added that the following persons have been nominated for appointment as commissioners: Damian Lawani; Joe Ikpea; Felix Akhabue; Moses Agbakor; Momoh Oise Omorogbe; and Marie Edeko.”

The newly-appointed Special Advisers, according to Ogie, are: Kabiru Adjoto; Magdalene Ohenhen; Osaigbovo Iyoha; Andrew Momodu and Ojo Asien.

According to the statement, “the state government offers its immense gratitude to the outgoing commissioners for their service and assures of continued cordial relations in the years ahead. While congratulating the newly-appointed commissioners and Special Advisers, the governor urged them to serve the people with integrity,” the statement added.

The statement further advised the outgoing commissioners to handover all government property in their possessions to the Permanent Secretaries in their ministries and wished them well in their future endeavours.

Daily Post

Leave a Reply